Skip to content

Hello World!

September 27, 2010

I always hate these introductory posts because I never really know what to say.  I always want to come up with something funny, eloquent, amazing, and something that would basically blow your socks off.  Yes, I said “blow your socks off”.  I’m going old-school phraseology here.

But I shall attempt to craft something witty, clever, and amusing, while also introducing myself and my new blog to the world of the Interwebs.  I’m Kira.  I’m a 23-year-old grad student, unemployed currently despite my credentials because this job market is terrible, but hoping to make some money off my writing soon.  In my time not spent doing homework or job searching, I write my own fantasy novels.  I also write articles on various topics (languages, crafts, travel, education, etc) for Suite101–which I do get paid for!

I also read.  A lot.  I have a library of my very own, easily somewhere around 300 books, and it grows every time I take a trip to Borders (which occurs more frequently than it should, haha).  Most of what I read is fantasy, with some science fiction mixed in, plus school books and classic books.

So what will this blog be about, you may ask?  I will endeavor to write about being addicted to the written word, what it’s like writing articles on a weekly basis, and what it’s like going through the process of attempting to publish your own work.  I’ll also–and this will likely be the main focus–be writing reviews of books, mostly fantasy and sci-fi, but also some classic reads and such sprinkled in at random.

I hope you stick around and enjoy!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. October 5, 2010 3:46 PM

    Congrats on launching your blog, Kira! Everything looks good. I had no idea we were both such serious book lovers, but I guess I would expect nothing less from two alums of The Cougar Express. 🙂

    • Kira permalink*
      October 5, 2010 4:57 PM

      Thanks! I’m excited about getting it going.
      You should have seen my “library” in my old apartment. It was fairly impressive! Now I’m down to three boxes of books, the rest are in storage. The horror! Only 3 boxes! lol

  2. September 28, 2010 10:31 AM

    Welcome to the world of blogging.
    LOL – and totally understand the library thing. I’ve got upwards of 650 books (recently cataloged/inventoried ALL of them.

    • Kira permalink*
      September 28, 2010 3:46 PM

      I’m in the process of putting all my books into a catalog on LibraryThing. It’s so time consuming! I keep feeling like I’ve forgotten a book. I’m only about a third of the way through, if that!

      • September 28, 2010 10:41 PM

        I just used an excel spreadsheet. And it DID take forever.

      • Kira permalink*
        September 28, 2010 11:20 PM

        I decided to go the online-library route so I could put my library online and post it on my blog. But I lied, I decided not to use LibraryThing, that site is only free for 200 books. And I have a lot more than that! I’m using Shelfari, which is totally free and I think it’s actually better than LibraryThing.

Leave a Reply

