Skip to content

Ideas, Ideas…Writing What You Know

September 29, 2010

You know, I was going to write something really superb, something amazing and awesome and mind-numbing.  Then I completely forgot the wonderful idea I had for a post.  Don’t you hate when that happens?  One second it’s there, and the next, whoooooosh it’s gone!

Ah, wait, I remember now!

I have been floating around for the past two days, agonizing over what to write in my first “real” post, when I remembered the common advice to “write what you know.”  Whoever said that was a genius, I tell you, a GENIUS!  Problem is, I know too much.  Anyway, what do I know?  What could I possibly say that anyone else would find at all interesting?

Truth to tell, I don’t know what you should read my blog.  I honestly can’t give you a reason.  I could say that you should read because it’s an ego-boost for me.  I could say you should read because you find my posts fascinating.  I could also say that you should read just for the book reviews and forget the rest of my opinions.

Nah, I won’t say that.  Instead, I will write what I know.  I know that books are fascinating.  They are a comfort, an old friend, a gateway to new worlds, an adventure on every page.  Books tell you more about people than we think.  For instance, people who read a lot of fantasy and science fiction are probably–note that I said PROBABLY–escapists looking for a vacation from reality that either involves new worlds or magic or both.  And I’d have to say, for the most part, that it’s true.

But that’s part of the beauty of books.  Each one takes you somewhere new.

I know that ideas for new articles or the next chapter of your story can wake you up in the middle of the night with a brilliant plot twist and you just have to write it down before you forget it, nevermind that the light blinds you and you try to write anyway.  You can solve this not only by keeping paper and pen/pencil on your nightstand, but also a flashlight.  It’s less blinding than the full lights.

I know that ideas can be elusive little buggers, flitting through your mind and then running away as you try to chase them down.  Then they hide in the back of your mind and laugh while you try to find them.  Solving this problem is harder–you have two choices.  Keep trying to pin down the idea, or forget about it until it runs back and slaps you upside the head or wakes you up in the middle of the night.

But I know that writing what you know is most important.  I couldn’t write a book or even an article about engineering, or science, or how to code an internet page.  I just don’t know.  I also wouldn’t write about cooking–I’m not that fond of cooking, actually, so writing cookbooks is probably out.  But I can write about books.  And ideas.

And so I shall!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

