Skip to content

Fantasy Conferences

October 15, 2010

So I was talking to my professor on Wednesday.  She teaches the mythology classes at UMD, and she’s a really sweet old lady.  I was talking to her about my fantasy books (she asked about them, which made me so happy) and fantasy authors I like to read, and she said I should attend the International Conference on the Fantastic in the Arts, hosted by the International Association for the Fantastic in the Arts.

I wish I had known this association existed before!  They talk about all the kinds of things I like to talk about: fantasy and mythology (and science fiction) and books and movies.  It just sounds so awesome that I really want to plan on going.

What’s the advantage in going to a conference?  You get to meet people who are interested in the same things you like.  You can sometimes meet famous people (because who doesn’t want to do that?).  And depending on what conference you attend, you could meet favorite authors, which is a real treat.  Plus, the learning aspect can’t be ignored.  Learning about your favorite things and talking about them with other people–what could be better?

Of course, it’s not easy going to a conference for the first time by yourself.  I hope I can find someone to go with me if I go to the IAFA’s event.  It’s very intimidating walking into rooms with that many people and not knowing anyone.  But generally, it’s worth the nerves.

Can you tell I’m excited?  I mean, who knew the IAFA existed???  I didn’t, but I’m very glad it does.

To find other book conferences or conferences about similar subjects, a Google search can be the start of a whole new world.  Also, AbeBooks has a list of fantasy and sci-fi events here.  The events are from 2007, but some of those conferences are still around, such as World Fantasy Convention.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

