Skip to content

Adventures in the Pointless

October 28, 2010

I have done something that is absolutely pointless.  It has no meaning to anyone and only serves to humor me.  It is a mark that yes, I have too much time on my hands, and too much creativity.  Unemployment has spawned many such endeavors in the pointless, and it doesn’t seem to be stopping any time soon.

What have I done, may you ask?  I have created a new Twitter account.  But not for me, oh no, I already have one with my name and face on it.  You can’t miss it–my hair is purple in that picture.

It’s a Twitter for Athena.  You know, the Greek goddess of war, wisdom, crafts, etc.

Athena has a Twitter!

And not just Athena. It’s a Twitter for all of the Greek gods, with Athena as poster and moderator.  A sample Tweet would be one such as: “Atlas says: Man the sky is heavy.  Where the heck did Hercules go?  He said I’d only have to hold it for a minute…”

Do we see now how pointless this is?  And so far there is only one follower: me!  I’m doing this purely for my own enjoyment, trying to think of what the gods might have said if they had a Twitter page.  So far it’s kinda fun. Unemployment has stifled most of my life, yet my creativity is running wild.  In an attempt to harness some of that energy, this is what has come to be.

Besides, mythology can be a lot of fun.  More people, in my opinion, should pay more attention to mythology.  But that and the importance of myths are different topics altogether.  Most readers, though, get at least a smattering of mythology in their books, especially if they read fantasy (and sometimes sci-fi, but not quite to the same extent).

@The_Greek_Gods

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 2, 2010 8:11 PM

    I am creating a twitter account right now to follow this! And Sesame Street. And Conan O’Brien. And I guess I should pimp my own blogs on there. But YOU, ma’am, inspired it.

    • Kira permalink*
      November 2, 2010 8:27 PM

      LOL I’m glad I inspired something. That’s always good to know.

Leave a Reply

