Skip to content

Trade Paperbacks Are the Devil

November 2, 2010

There are three kinds of book formats: hardcover, trade paperback, and mass market paperback.  The MMPs are the smaller versions that usually dominate the shelves.  A trade paperback is taller, sometimes with slightly larger print, and just bigger but still with a paper cover.

And they are the devil.

You heard me.  I can’t stand trade paperbacks.  It seems to be that they are a waste–if the publishers have time to make a trade paperback, why can’t they just put it out in MMP at that time instead of making us wait sometimes another whole year to access an MMP version.

Trade paperbacks cost a few dollars more than MMP and don’t fit as well in my bookbag/purse/shoulder bag of some kind.  They take up more room on my bookcase shelves because of their larger size, which means I have less room for books (the horror!).  And because they cost more, I can buy fewer books.

I’m sure the publishers love trade paperbacks.  They earn a bit more money off of them than from MMPs, after all, and many readers are impatient to wait for the MMP to be printed to find out what happens next.

I have a love-hate relationship with trade paperbacks.  On the one hand, yes, I find out what happens next that much sooner because a trade paperback has been printed.  On the other hand, one trade paperback costs more and takes up more space than one MMP.  Plus, the trade paperback is messing up the organization on my bookshelves: I no longer have neat, straight lines of MMPs that I can stack or double-row.  Highly annoying!

Trade paperbacks are the devil.  They are simply too tempting to pass up when I’m dying to know what happens next–especially when THREE of the things have been printed for a series and an MMP still has yet to printed for the first of those three.  Publishers, in this instance, I do loathe you, and that is not normally the case.

Down with the trade paperback!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Stevan permalink
    November 2, 2010 8:34 PM

    I like trade paper backs more then MMP as I find MMPs trashy. I would like to have only trade paper backs instead of MMPs. But agree that publishers milk the hardcover and trade paper backs too long.

    I also like the feel of a trade paper in my hand over a mmp or sometimes even an mmp.

    • Kira permalink*
      November 2, 2010 8:39 PM

      How are MMPs trashy??

      I favor a trade paperback over a hardcover, and a mass market over a trade. MMPs are just easier for me to hold in one hand so I can multitask =)

  2. November 2, 2010 8:06 PM

    Yes!! They create an awkward lump on my bookshelf and make me question the decision to buy the book (since it is more expensive). I don’t want doubts when I am purchasing my beloved novels! Grrr. What annoys me the most (especially when it is my dad buying the books so the price does not affect me) is when they change halfway through a series. The series gets a modicum of popularity so they start releasing the trade paperbacks. On the one hand yay for that write I like! I will see more. On the other hand, I don’t want my nicely shelved series to suddenly change sizes.

    • Kira permalink*
      November 2, 2010 8:28 PM

      I held off buying those three trade paperbacks as long as I could, but when I realized that the MMPs weren’t out and they’d gotten to THREE trades, well, I decided I had to know what happened in the series and couldn’t wait longer. I mean, I’d already read three books into the series, I couldn’t stop there! But I always think twice about buying a trade paperback, and hold off as long as I can.

Leave a Reply

