Skip to content

CityVille Will Have My Soul

December 15, 2010

You read that title right.  CityVille on Facebook will have my soul.  It’s true.  It has sucked me in and made me play until my eyes go blurry.  And I didn’t intend to start playing it.  I fell into it by accident, and then started playing, and it was like a nice poison seeping into my brain.

Although not a book, it’s a fantasy (which, hey, relates to this blog!).  CityVille invites you to create your own city and build it from the ground up, using the buildings provided to place and plan to your pleasure.  It’s made by the same people who created FarmVille, and I’m sure most people have heard the news stories about people being completely addicted to that game, which I absolutely refuse to play.

The key to successful fantasy games (and books) is that they engage but also feel like the world could be real.  That’s why the fantasy becomes so tantalizing.  You want to touch, taste, feel, interact with the fantasy world as you do in the real world.  If you’ve ever played World of Warcraft or a similar game, you know what it feels like to pretend as if you’re actually taking part in this made-up reality.  You have something invested into it, and it doesn’t have to be money.  What you invest in these games is your imagination, your own spirit of creativity, and your energy.  In a similar way, a good fantasy book will make you feel as if you’re a part of the author’s creation and as if that creation could be real, even if you can’t see, touch, or hear it in our real world.

CityVille almost had the power to pull me away from books.  That is how addicting it is.  But then I had to take a break because I was out of energy to play with, and had to find something else to do, so I picked up a book, and read so long I killed some of my crops in the game from neglect.  The book, incidentally, is a fantasy book and the subject of my next review.

I am convinced CityVille will find a way to take my soul.  Just as long as it doesn’t take my wallet!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

