Skip to content

Question of the Week: Epic Fantasy Series

February 7, 2011

Most of the books I see lately are in trilogies or duologies.  There rarely seems to be a stand-alone book (for which I’m rather happy, if I like the book I want to know more than what can be contained in just one installment), but long series seems to also be on its way out (Twilight doesn’t count, nor do I count Harry Potter because their pop culture status could have influenced the demand for more books.  Robert Jordan is also out because that series was begun more than a decade ago, I believe).  Mostly, I don’t think you tend to see a series with more than three books in it.  I could be wrong on this one, but I think the epic fantasy series is seeing a decline.  So this week’s question is:

Do you think the epic fantasy series is on its way out?

Post your answer in the comments section below!

And remember, there aren’t necessarily right or wrong answers–but if I find anyone flaming someone else’s answer, that person will be banned.   Fair warning.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

