Skip to content

Question of the Week: Legolas v. Gimli

February 21, 2011

In case no one has noticed, I’m a big Lord of the Rings fan.  That being said, this week’s question concerns LotR.  Aragorn, the main human hero (Frodo is not human, so even though he’s the main hero of the story, Aragorn is the main human hero), had two friends who were sort of like his sidekicks.  They followed him everywhere, kicked butt when the hero was otherwise occupied, and generally kept the hero from doing something really stupid like going off on his own without his friends.

Who was the better “hero sidekick” to Aragorn: Legolas or Gimli?

Put your answer in the comments section below!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Stevan permalink
    February 22, 2011 12:12 AM

    I got to stand up for the G-Man (dwarf but the point stands). I believe that he would the best partner for Aragon because of the following: 1) Gimli is stronger. 2) He is more well travelled then Legolas. 3) Gimili was on the quest since he left his mountain home, because he was worried about their safety. Whereas Legolas joined to be spiteful because he is racist against Gimli and all dwarfs. 4) Aragon needs a tank as he is already a hitter, and Legolas is a hitter not a tank.

  2. February 21, 2011 9:23 PM

    I’m not that familiar with the books or movies, but I’ll say that they work best when they are a team! (But if I really had to pick one… Legolas, man, he’s hot)

    • Kira permalink*
      February 21, 2011 9:48 PM

      I’m biased to Legolas myself… =D

  3. Raelyn permalink
    February 21, 2011 8:59 PM

    Legolas was definitely more effective at killing orces and other such beasties. But at the same time Gimli was just…. awesome (I can’t look at this question w/o bias of how entertaining and hilarious I find Gimli).

    Also, I’m not sure I’d classify either as a ‘hero sidekick’ to Aragorn for reasons that my brain (which has decided to shut off around 11am today) cannot explain in proper English. But, I do think that Aragorn was far closer to Legolas than Gimli.

    • Kira permalink*
      February 21, 2011 9:49 PM

      Gimli got a lot of the monsters and orcs and stuff, but I think Legolas had the advantage over him in that arena because of long-range weapons and his height. But Gimli is hilarious =)

      Well, if your brain starts working again, come back and try to explain, haha! (Maybe some sleep will help…?)

Leave a Reply

