Skip to content

Question of the Week: Food and Books

January 28, 2013

Do you ever eat while reading?  Do you allow food around your books at all, or do you keep them separated just in case of stains or crumbs?

I usually eat and read if mealtime happens during reading time.  I’ve been known to eat dinner with a book in my left hand and a spoon or fork in my right.  If it’s a heavy or thick book, then it gets laid flat on the table, and I’ve gotten good at finding things to use as weights to hold the pages down so I can eat without straining my arm.  Remotes work well, as do staplers, tape dispensers, cell phones (the larger ones), and calculators.

But if I lend books out to people, they are threatened with death should they get even one crumb on my book’s precious pages.  And if they stain it, they are buying me a new copy.  I don’t mess around!  If I eat and read and the book gets stained, I have no one to blame but myself–but I’ve only let that happen once and never again.  If someone else stains my book, then watch out!  I can and will blame them for the desecration of my Precious!

So . . . how about you?

Post your reply in the comments section!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 31, 2013 10:33 AM

    Ooh No, I can’t let anything near my books. I’m kinda picky about condition, well in a weird way at least. I don’t mind wear due to use it adds character, but stains? Can’t read a stained book. Every time I see the stain it irritates me. I even bought a nice new shiny book, then whilst carrying it about while I shopped, grabbed a coffee from Starbucks. However the cup was leaky and I didn’t notice, so it went in the bag and stained my book. I haven’t read it, although I am looking into buying a new copy.

    *Shakes an angry fist in the direction of the closest Starbucks*

  2. January 28, 2013 9:30 PM

    I’m guilty of drinking tea while reading. That said, I usually forget about the tea after I’m a few pages into the story, and by the time I remember, the tea’s gone cold and it’s not appetizing anyway. So… I do, but I don’t.

    But eating while reading – can’t do it, because I live at home with my family, and the younger kids are messy eaters. Too dangerous an environment for my books.

Leave a Reply

