Skip to content

Question of the Week: Favorite Book

February 25, 2013

I’ve been asked this question a lot.  Sadly, I never have an answer.  I suppose I should actually say that I never have a good answer, not one that’s satisfying to the questioner’s curiosity.  “What is your favorite book?”  “I don’t have a favorite.”  [insert strange look from questioner] “You have all those books and you don’t have a favorite?”

love books

But how can I have a favorite book?  How could I possibly choose?  So many books and so little time to read them all!  Plus, my tastes change as I grow and learn.  The books that appealed to me most as a teen appeal to me less now as an adult, but that doesn’t mean I don’t still like those books.  It just means I need and want a slightly different kind of story.  So my favorites back then are not my favorites now.

And even now, I can’t say I have a favorite.  I’ll break it down.  What kind of mood are you in?  OK, then read that one.  Want something with more romance than action today? OK, read that one but not that one.  Different books and stories appeal on different days and to different moods.  My favorite book for curling up on a cold winter day may not be my favorite book for reading outside in the summer.

So many stories, how could I possibly choose just one?

Now you get to answer the question: What’s your favorite book?

Have fun!

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 25, 2013 3:47 PM

    Aggh, that is the question that I always dread too! It’s impossible to choose and changes depending on my mood and life experiences at the times as well. That question should be banned. 😛

Leave a Reply

