Skip to content

Booking Through Thursday 4/18/2013

April 18, 2013

btt button Booking Through Thursday is a weekly meme that focuses (mostly) on books and reading.

I saw a Latin edition of “The Hobbit” last time I was at the bookstore… Do you read any foreign languages? Do you ENJOY reading in other languages?

I LOVE foreign languages. I’m a linguist, so that’s not really a surprise. However, I’m not fluent enough (yet) in any other language to read an entire book.  I have Harry Potter in Latin, ancient Greek, and Iclandic. The Iclandic version I picked up purely for novelty reasons, since I don’t know the first thing about the Iclandic language. But Latin and ancient Greek I’m at about an intermediate level, so I can read a good portion of it the book, but still get stumped on some things.  I think somewhere I have a Spanish book (aside from the language learning materials I kept from high school), but I don’t remember where or which one it is.  And again, I’m only around an intermediate level so far.

I think there’s great value in learning other languages, and I personally have a sense of accomplishment when I can easily read something in a language not my own.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 19, 2013 2:06 AM

    Wow! The time I read a book that I love so much, I might try to own a copy of the book in different languages, too. Hopping here from BTT.

  2. April 18, 2013 8:45 PM

    That’s awesome that you have Harry Potter in those languages! Icelandic would be something really awesome to learn…I’m hoping to learn a little Latin and learn Spanish as soon as I brush up on my Italian (it’s been a while since I’ve practiced, lol).

    Here’s my BTT response for this week: http://www.caffeinatedlife.net/blog/2013/04/18/meme-booking-through-thursdays-5/

Leave a Reply

