Skip to content

Booking Through Thursday 6/20/2013

June 20, 2013

btt button Booking Through Thursday is a weekly meme that focuses (mostly) on books and reading.

And, the reverse–which actors have been particularly badly cast in roles of characters you first met in the pages of a book? Do you blame the actors or the writers and other film-people for the failure? Who would you have cast instead?

I’m having trouble thinking of an answer to this one!  All the actors I can think of have done either a decent, good, great, or outstanding job at portraying their book characters. The only one I can think of right now is maybe Tobey Maguire in Spider-Man. (I know that’s a comic book character and not a book character, but close enough.) I liked that movie though–but then, I have a weird fascination with bad movies, soooooo . . . yeah.  I can’t even single out Kristen Stewart in Twilight for her Bella Swan because Bella was supposed to be an awkward teenager, and Kristen’s portrayal was definitely awkward.

I wouldn’t necessarily blame the actors for a bad performance as much as I would the director or the script writer.  An actor can only rise to the level of the material given, in my opinion. If the script is bad, there’s little an actor can do to save it, even with a great performance.  Twilight comes to mind.  Some of those lines were absolutely terrible, and the actors delivered their lines perfectly, but the material was so bad (in my opinion) that no amount of good acting could save it.  It’s a different situation, though, if the material is good and the actor isn’t living up to it.  So I guess my real answer for this part of the question is that it depends on the situation.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

