Skip to content

Featured Author: Jesikah Sundin

August 7, 2014

Book and Coffee picABOUT JESIKAH

Jesikah Sundin is a sci-fi/fantasy writer mom of three nerdlets and devoted wife to a gamer geek. In addition to her family, she shares her home in Monroe, Washington with a red-footed tortoise, four gerbils, and a collection of seatbelt purses. She is addicted to coffee, laughing, and Dr Martens…oh, and the forest is her happy place.

LEGACY is the winner of the Winter 2014 Chanticleer Book Reviews Great Beginnings Cygnus award for SciFi/Fantasy and the 2014 Indie Excellence Finalist Book Award for Science Fiction.

This is Jesikah’s debut novel, and she looks forward to filling bookshelves with more novels to come, including Books Two and Three in The Biodome Chronicles, ELEMENTS and GAMEMASTER.

Website: www.jesikahsundin.com

FEATURED BOOK

cover artLegacy (The Biodome Chronicles, Book 1)

A sensible young nobleman, Leaf Watson, and his sister, Willow Oak, live a rustic medieval life rich in traditions and chivalry. Sealed inside an experimental biodome since infancy, they have been groomed by The Code to build a sustainable community devoid of Outsider interference.

They are unwitting pioneers on a path toward confined interplanetary homesteading.

Life within their walled garden is predictable and peaceful until the unthinkable happens. With his dying breath, Leaf and Willow’s noble father bequeaths a family secret, placing an invisible crown of power on Leaf’s head. Grief-stricken and afraid for their lives, the siblings defy their upbringing by connecting with Fillion Nichols, a punk hacker who, unbeknownst to them, is linked to their lives in shocking ways. Their encounter launches Fillion into a battle with his turbulent past as he urgently decodes the many secrets that bind them together, a necessity for each to survive.

Youth cultures clash when the high technology of the Anime Tech Movement collides with the Middle Ages in a quest for truth, unfolding a story rich in mystery, betrayal and love.

Find it on Amazon!


INTERVIEW

Why did you choose to self-publish?

Pure and simple: Instant gratification. What can I say? The choice was either wait years for someone to validate my existence as an artist or jump into the publishing arena and make it happen for myself. I’ve always been a self-made woman, so the answer was rather obvious. I loved my story and I couldn’t wait for readers to *hopefully* enjoy my characters and the world I had crafted. As a writer, I feel my job is to connect to readers and self-publishing allows this opportunity to unfold more organically. And then the magic moment happened — every writer’s dream. In my hand, I cradled all my hard labor and thousands of words penned by my imagination, wrapped up neatly within the gorgeous cover of a perfect bound book. I had made my lifelong dream come true. And the personal reward for completing such a self-directed journey is immeasurable.

Which authors or books influenced your writing the most?

Oh this is such a tough question! I am a diverse reader. Hmmmm….well, C.S. Lewis, J.R.R. Tolkien, Jane Austen, Charles Dickens, and William Shakespeare are the first names that come to mind. My coming of age brimmed with tales penned by these notable authors. The Classics, folklore, and mythologies are still some of my favorite reads to this day. I see this influence the most in the romantic language and dialogue of my biodome world, New Eden Township.

I also have a love affair with Star Wars and have since I was four years old. The quasi-medieval and western costumes, deep space, droids, galactic battles, and futuristic weaponry strongly influenced my impressionable mind. The imagery of the past meeting the future has stayed with me all these years. Then, I encountered Blade Runner, and I knew the juxtaposition of bygone eras mixed with high tech futures was for me. Joss Whedon’s Firefly further solidified this observation.

What are your current projects / What are you working on next?

Presently, I am consumed with “The Biodome Chronicles,” a near future, science fiction trilogy that explores how an entire generation is awakened and affected by a community sealed within a biodome, an Earth-based socio-psychological test for Mars colonization. Inside the dome is a world housing live action role players who have reconstructed society to reflect an agrarian medieval lifestyle, fully embracing the reality of life, death, and surviving by the sweat of your brow. And outside of the dome is a high-tech, cyberpunk-esque world reflecting Japanese influence in the United States and a youth culture known as the Anime Generation. This story closely examines community, identity, love, family, and the cycle of life through the lens and life experiences of a diverse cast of characters.

I am in the thick of writing ELEMENTS, book two in “The Biodome Chronicles”. There is one more book in this series, GAMEMASTER, and then I plan to scribble away on a new project: “The Last Forest Kingdoms.”  I am still in the world building phase, and will be for years. But as of right now, it is an alternate reality science fiction and fantasy mash-up featuring kingdoms — connected by forest portal doors –that are on the brink of extinction due to bio-environmental nanotechnology warfare testing.

Anything else you would like to mention?

I love, love, love music. When preparing to write, I listen to several playlists usually consisting of alternate rock, metal, and post-grunge. But when writing, I listen to cinematic and ambient instrumentals, EDM, dubstep, and classical-crossover pieces. I encourage readers to share with me their favorite music, especially songs they feel reflect my story and/or characters. It is such a fun way to extend art and connect.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

