Skip to content

Featured Author: Stan Morris

August 17, 2014

Stan MorrisABOUT STAN

I’m Stan Morris.  I was born in Linwood, California, and was raised in Norwalk and Concord, California. In 1972, I moved to New Mexico. I met a girl at college in 1975, set out to score, succeeded, and have been married to her since 1977.  She taught elementary Special Education in Texas for five years, and then we moved to Maui. We have two grown boys, both gainfully employed, thank goodness. My wife had the career and I had the job, so I worked at a variety of those before developing a computer business in the late 1980’s. Now we are retired and living on a farm. I garden, watch sports, listen to music, read, and write. I don’t make much money at it, so occasionally I have to ask my wife for my allowance.

The books I have written include Surviving the Fog, Surviving the Fog-Kathy’s Recollections, Sarah’s Spaceship Adventure, The Colors of Passion and Love, Sam’s Winnings, Kate’s Movie Star, Amy’s Hero, and What’s In My Shorts.

Author Website: https://sites.google.com/site/stanandrene/home

Book Website: http://warmhawaiian.wix.com/survivingthefog

FEATURED BOOK

Surviving the FogSurviving the Fog: Kathy’s Recollections

Forty-eight teenagers are trapped at a camp in the southern Sierra Nevada Mountains.  The adults are missing, and a mysterious brown fog covers the Earth below.  Kathy, age fourteen, did not want attend the camp, but her parents saved her life by sending her.  Now she and the other teens must learn how to deal with grief while building a shelter, gathering food, and repelling outsiders.  Can they survive the Fog?

Find it on Amazon!

INTERVIEW

Why did you choose to self-publish?

In 2008, I finished writing Surviving the Fog, the first story in the series.  I printed a copy, boxed it up, and sent it to the Library of Congress to copyright it.  After ten months, I finally received a reply and a certificate.  Meanwhile, I started a search for how to publish at traditional publishing houses such as Baen and Tor.  But the world was changing rapidly.  Publishing internet sites were starting to offer ebooks.  Ereaders were being created.  Impatient, I posted my book at a free site and started getting downloads.  Searches led me to Manybooks, Feedbooks, and then Mark Coker created Smashwords and began distributing to other outlets.  I posted my book there.  The meatgrinder at Smashwords was much easier to use in those days.  Finally Amazon created Kindle Digital Publishing.  They would not make a book free, so I had to list it for $1.  Six months later I had made about $2,000.  I’ve never looked back.  I have published eight books at this point, all on the internet.

Which authors or books influenced your writing the most?

As a boy I was watching a new show called Star Trek.  Its five year mission; to boldly go where no man had gone before.  Zane Grey opened a window into the past of western America.  Louisa May Alcott provided glimpses into the feminist thinking of the nineteenth century.  William Campbell Gault was exploring racism in teen books about sports, and Jim Kjelgaard was describing how animals and humans interacted in the wild.  Robert Heinlein introduced me to the universe.  I was inspired by all of these writers and by many more.

What are your current projects / What are you working on next?

Books I am working on include Surviving the Fog-Howard the RedSurviving the Fog-Douglas LivesSurviving the Fog-Sashathe Scarred HeroineAlmost Like a DadGrowing upThe President’s CustodianRespectThe Governor of ArslanJara Mackenzie Versus the Planet MarlJulee Mackenzie and the First Officer, and Captain Mackenzie and the Last Chance Spaceship.

Anything else you would like to mention?

Book trailer: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8FB5As2XVis

Twitter: https://twitter.com/morriss003

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/2884264.Stan_Morris

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 17, 2014 5:53 AM

    Reblogged this on Library of Erana and commented:
    Here’s a great interview with Stan Morris.

Leave a Reply

