Skip to content

Featured Author: Laura Montgomery

August 19, 2014

ABOUT LAURA

Laura Montgomery began reading science fiction when she was thirteen, when the local U.S. Air Force base donated many amazing books to the school she attended in northern Thailand.  Laura practices space law in Washington, D.C. She has worked on space tourism and launch safety regulations, which, honestly, are not science fiction.  She lives outside Washington with her husband, children, and dogs.

Website: http://www.amazon.com/Laura-Montgomery/e/B00CNR15U2/ref=ntt_athr_dp_pel_1

FEATURED BOOK

coverManx Prize

In the second half of the twenty-first century, when Charlotte Fisher was just thirteen, orbital debris took its first large-scale human casualties from an orbiting tourist habitat. Haunted by visions of destruction and her father’s anguish, as a young engineer Charlotte follows in his footsteps and determines to win a prize offered by a consortium of satellite and orbitat operators for the first successful de-orbiting of space junk. Her employer backs these efforts until the reentry of a piece of debris kills two people, and she and her team are spun off to shield the parent company from liability. With limited resources, a finite budget and the unwanted gift of a lawyer who, regardless of his appeal, she doesn’t need, she must face a competitor who cheats, a collusive regulator, and the temptations dangled by the strange and alluring friends of a powerful seastead.

Manx Prize will appeal to readers who like to think about near-term, near-space events, and people who like competitions. This is a race. Space is hard. In real life and in the book, we haven’t got very far, not even back to the moon. It will appeal to space fans, people who like a light romantic subplot, lawyers, and anyone interested in new ideas about dealing with orbital debris.

Find it on Amazon!

INTERVIEW

Why did you choose to self-publish?

I opted for the independent publishing route after doing a lot of reading about the advantages it offers.  I really like the immediate access to readers and the fact that I control the timetable on publishing.

Which authors or books influenced your writing the most?

I’ve been a big reader my whole life, so it’s hard to pinpoint who influenced my writing the most.  I do know that Robert Heinlein served as my introduction to science fiction.  I loved his books, and still re-read him.  I loved Georgette Heyer’s regency romances as well.  She viewed romance as charming and fun, and the romantic sub-plot in Manx Prize is, I hope, my attempt to share some of that same delight.

What are your current projects / What are you working on next?

I am currently working on a sequel to my first book, The Sky Suspended.  The sequel continues to explore how Earth reacts to the return of its first starship and the discovery of an Earth-like world.  So far, I write what I think of as ground-based science fiction.  My favorite books are about space travel, alien planets, lost colonies, and the human settlement of space. But when I read these stories of far off adventure, there’s always a part of me that wonders what the people on Earth think about it all and how they are reacting. So far, my stories are about the people on the ground.

Anything else you would like to mention?

I am also planning to publish a few short stories before the end of the year.  I hope.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Laura M permalink
    August 20, 2014 11:20 PM

    Thank you so much for doing this, Kira. It’s awfully helpful.

Leave a Reply

