Skip to content

Featured Author: Whitney Pagano

August 21, 2014

Camera 360ABOUT WHITNEY

Hey! I’m Whitney Pagano. I read ya sci/fi, poetry, murder mysteries and a couple of other genres. I’ve been writing for as far back as I can remember. I discovered books at six years old, and from then on I devoured everything I could get my hands on as well as started to keep diaries and journals. At first I read everything, then I discovered I enjoyed reading YA more than any other genre. At around 13, after keeping copious journals/diaries, and writing short stories and poems for years, I decided to try my hand at writing YA fiction. That first try will never see the light of day. I’ll cherish it because as my first completed manuscript at 176,000 words, it’d been no easy feat for me. However, even as a 13 year old skinny, potbellied, pigtail wearing, and book/pencil wielding dreamer, I knew it was non-publishable.

In 2009, I started working on an idea that was to become the foundation for The Girl Who Remained Elusive series, although I didn’t know that at the time.

In Summer of 2014, I decided it was well past time for me to have put myself out there and face the vulnerability that came with publishing. I self published Vol I and II of The Cracked Heart’s Club Series, a series of poetry volumes depicting my experiences with love-the good and the bad-on Amazon through its Kindle Select Program.

Thanks for checking out my work!

Website: http://www.amazon.com/Whitney-Pagano/e/B00LARFQUQ

FEATURED BOOK

cover artThe Girl Who Remained Elusive

Some things you should know about me:
I’m seventeen. The world is gone to hell. I sleep in a cave with a couple dozen other people, hiding from a government corporation called Isis. As far as I know, we are are the only ones on this earth who still remain free, and most importantly med-free.
Maybe we’ve just been lucky. Or maybe our success at sticking to the Golden Rule has kept us alive. Here, in my world where human life has little to no value, sticking to the Golden Rule is key.  What’s the rule? It’s quite simple:  REMAIN ELUSIVE.
Stay out of sight. Remain unseen. Because that’s the only way one has a chance to stay alive.

Find it on Amazon!

INTERVIEW

Why did you choose to self-publish?

When it came time to publish, I compared traditional publishing to self publishing. Concerning pros, self publishing stacked much higher. With self publishing, I have total control of my work. I own all rights, and I have all control of how my book looks, and what price to sell it at. Most importantly, self publishing allows me to write my characters exactly as I see them. I’m not forced to chop vital parts of my story or stretch scenes to fit a certain word length, unlike the often requirements of traditional publishing.

Which authors or books influenced your writing the most?

Alexandra Bracken, George Orwell, Veronica Roth, Suzanne Collins, James Dashner, Charles Dickens, James Patterson (I read the Maximum Ride series again and again from time to time.)

What are your current projects / What are you working on next?

I’m editing Pt. 2 of the Girl Who Remained Elusive Series. Because I’m publishing piece by piece (sort of like a written tv show..lol) and kind of making this up as I go, I expect to be working on this series for a while.

Anything else you would like to mention?

Yes! I’m always looking for readers who wouldn’t mind reviewing my books. For any of you who would like a free copy to review, please contact me at whitopag@gmail.com. Twitter handle: @WhitOPag

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

