Skip to content

Featured Author: Norma Huss

August 24, 2014

ABOUT NORMA

Norma Huss calls herself The Grandma Moses of Mystery (since she has eight grandchildren, and, like the original Grandma Moses who was famous for her primitive art, she too, only received recognition when she reached eighty). She and her husband spent several years boating, thus the Chesapeake Bay location for her two adult mysteries, Yesterday’s Body and Death of a Hot Chick.

Website: http://www.normahuss.com/

FEATURED BOOK

Cherish12-1-2013-Front-400Cherish

It’s the sophomore Local History cemetary visit. Sure, it’s almost Halloween, but Kayla has seen that ghost for years. She wants to make the ghost go away, but she shouldn’t have touched her hand, because, That’s When Everything Changed.

Kayla finds herself in 1946 as someone else, someone whose name is on an elaborate tombstone. Is she Cherish, or is Cherish her? Is Cherish taking her place?

Fact: Cherish is ruining her life in two centuries. If Kayla doesn’t find her way home to her own time and her own body, she will die with Cherish in a few days.

Question: Do cell phone texts span the centuries? And, if they do, will Kayla’s friends believe her?

Cherish is being released on September 1, 2014.

Find it on Amazon!

INTERVIEW

Why did you choose to self-publish?

When my first book was purchased and brought out by a small press, I was thrilled. They edited, designed a nice cover, and published, both in paperback and e-book. However, the cost to bookstores allowed almost no mark-up so they wouldn’t handle it. The e-book cost too much as well. There was no publicity, even when the book became an EPIC finalist. After my two-year contract ran out, I didn’t renew. I figured I couldn’t do any worse. In fact, after publishing a second edition of that book and two others, I’ve done a bit better. (Although Barnes & Noble won’t handle any book with a connection to Amazon, my books are in Aarons Books, a local bookstore.)

Which authors or books influenced your writing the most?

Of course I began to love mystery with Nancy Drew. Later, Agatha Christie completely out-thought me when it came to solving the mystery. Dorothy Gilman’s books influenced my first mystery, as well as furthering my love of mystery books. Since then, I continue to be inspired by many other authors. I must admit, a sentence in a newspaper, or a magazine article might inspire me by introducing a new idea I can twist and make my own. For instance, when a local column touting available pets included a macaw, I immediately wondered—how I can give my protagonist a macaw to perplex her life?

What are your current projects / What are you working on next?

I’m working on a sequel to my first mystery, Yesterday’s Body, to be titled Forgotten Body. (My heroine’s imaginary cat will have a bit part in this one.)

I am also preparing the e-book for my non-fiction, A Knucklehead in 1920s Alaska, my father’s memories as a hot-headed nineteen-year-old going to Alaska to earn college money. That summer turned into nearly three years in Alaska’s wilderness and mines.

Anything else you would like to mention?

Originally, I started writing YA books that got nibbles, but eventually went nowhere. Recently I completely rewrote and updated one of my ideas to publish one before my grandchildren got too old to be interested. Turned out to be my featured book here. I revealed the Cherish cover on Goodreads on August 15. (I’m still looking for a few “want to read” clicks.) The link to a PDF of the first two chapters is: http://blog.normahuss.com/wp‑content/uploads/2014/07/Cherish‑2‑chapters.pdf

3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 26, 2014 12:51 PM

    Ah – I see the book isn’t available yet. But no worries for me…I’m adding it to my to be purchased pile now. 🙂

  2. August 26, 2014 12:49 PM

    Norma – what a fascinating sounding read! I wish you the best of luck with the release, and totally enjoyed the interview. Now…off to buy the book!

  3. August 25, 2014 10:58 AM

    Thank you for inviting me to appear on your blog, Kira. (Didn’t know I was fantastical enough, but I am self-published enough. Okay, a ghost is a bit fantastical.)

Leave a Reply

