Skip to content

Featured Author: Wade Garret

August 27, 2014

ABOUT WADE

32. Married. Dog. House. Beard. Student of history, anthropology and politics. I love all things geek: comics, anime, cartoons, fantasy and science fiction; plus I love tattoos, of which I have six, beer—darker the better—and whisky: Jameson.

Website: http://wjgarret.blogspot.com/

FEATURED BOOK

coverGenesis (The Kingdom Come series, Book 1)

Science Fiction in the tradition of Dune, The Dark Tower and A Song of Ice and Fire! Jak Hartlen, 19, the son of William and Mary, will face many thresholds of flesh and mind on his road to reaping the Whirl Wind; seeds of grief and guilt only now coming to fruition. If only they’d know what they were doing… The Gan and their Areht who shape the world behind the scenes will hate him, because he’s a threat they’re not sure can be chained. The Pillars and their Faithful who spread the world’s leading religion will fear him, because his existence, once known, will challenge Ages of dogma and accepted history. The Crimson King and its Servants who seek to return to power, destroying all that remains of The White, will hunt him, because even in death, they’re not sure he’ll ever bow to the Dark. —They All Should. For as One of Five with the power to shake the world, they will hollow his heart and mind through countless sacrifice and vengeful selfishness.

Find it on Amazon!


INTERVIEW

Why did you choose to publish non-traditionally?

Black Bed Sheet Books is a small press, so it’s a traditional publisher…though smaller. I see alot of small press doing cool things with different kinds of books that I feel maybe the bigger press might consider risky, which is exciting. I’m very proud to be Black Bed Sheet’s first F/SF.

Which authors or books influenced your writing the most?

All the greats that almost anyone can name or find when looking online for Classic F/SF. For the the writers today, I’d have to say: Mark Hodder, Chris Wooding, Daniel Polansky, Kevin J. Anderson, Brian Herbert, Neil Gaiman, Mark Lawrence and probably a dozen others, not including comic and movie writers.

What are your current projects / What are you working on next?

I’m working on Book 2 of my Kingdom Come Series and I’m also getting into a few Short Story ideas—all F/SF, but there’s not one element they all circle around. So, if it turns out to be a single book, it’ll take you across the spectrum of Speculative Fiction.

Anything else you would like to mention?

Twitter: @wadejgarret

Facebook: WadeGarret

Advertisements
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: