Skip to content

Featured Author: Amanda June Hagarty

August 28, 2014

ABOUT AMANDA

Born and raised around Vancouver, BC Canada, and now residing in Bellingham, WA, Amanda is a west coast girl through and through. She earned a BA in Psychology from Simon Fraser University. She earns a living as a virtual land baroness in Second Life, teaching social media marketing, and several other business ventures. She has adored reading and writing sci-fi and fantasy ever since the 80s, when she discovered the Dragon Riders of Pern series by Anne McCaffrey.

Website: http://www.amandajunehagarty.com/p/index.html

FEATURED BOOK

coverClean Slate: A Novellette

Something waits for him in the darkness.

Since he woke up on a mortuary slab in Victorian London’s East End, Leland has been on the run trying to stay ahead of the demon darkness, and trying to make sense of the jumble in his head.

Who is he? Why is this happening to him? How are the gaslights in the street both a modern convenience and terribly antiquated to him at the same tome? Nothing seems right, nothing fits.

Now he stands at the end of a pier in some Northwestern fishing village and there is nowhere left to run. The answers are catching up to him, but so is the darkness.

Find it on Amazon!

coverLittle Lacey

Lacey, is a bat girl. Seven years ago, her mother wished at the well in the heart of the Wish Wood, transforming a young bat-ling into a human girl–mostly human. But Lacey is growing up, Mama has a real daughter now, the kids in town tug on her pointy ears, and the schoolmistress chides her for hissing and baring her sharp teeth at her tormentors.

Lacey is overwhelmed by all the typical angst of being a teenage girl, being an outcast, and the animal nature inside her–which seems to be out of her control. Will she give in to her baser instincts or will she be the daughter Mama wants her to be? The struggle brings her back to the haunted Wish Woods, where she learns just what kind of animal she can be.

Find it on Wattpad!

INTERVIEW

Why did you choose to self-publish?

I chose to publish non-traditionally because life is too short to wait to become the next starlet of the publishing world. I think I am a good writer, except for my “issues” with grammar (but hey that’s what a copy editor is for). I want to become a great writer, and for that I need experience and feedback–something pretty hard to come by on the traditional publishing route. I don’t want to get hung up on trying to perfect the same story for the rest of my life, because I keep getting form-letter rejections, which may mean the story needs work or may just mean they already accepted another story about a pink unicorn and mine would be redundant (I am not writing about a pink unicorn…that was just an example :D).

So, my plan is to write and publish and write and publish and listen to my readers, and somewhere in all that improve my skills–until I really am as good as I think I am. In the end, I will be happy to publish books people enjoy and make a modest amount of money from my efforts. I don’t need a six figure book deal, or my books on the NYT bestseller list…although I would not say flat-out no to any obscene amount of money a publisher may want to offer me 😉

Which authors or books influenced your writing the most?

Well I have to say Anne McCaffrey because she is the one who started it all. I discovered “Dragon Drums” at the school library and I was hooked. After I had read every single book she had available I devoured anything SFF I could get my hands on. I have read countless books by umpteen authors: Andre Norton, Ursula LeGuin, Mercedes Lackey, David Eddings, Piers Anthony, Terry Brooks, Melanie Rawn all come to mind. And that just scratches the surface. I have always read books. I may be the only kid to ever get in trouble at school for reading too much. Apparently, they don’t like it when you mark every answer on a test as “C” so you could get back to reading.

I think, more than the writer, it is the characters who influence me the most. I always find myself gravitating toward the strong female characters. Menolly of Pern. Polgara the Sorcress. Elspeth of Valdemar. They found their way into my head and never left. Not to be dramatic, but they probably influenced the person I grew up to be, so I would say they also influence my writing.

What are your current projects / What are you working on next?

My current project is “Little Lacey.” It is a story about a girl who is part bat and part human because of a cursed wishing well. It’s a middle grade fantasy/adventure. I have the rough draft written, courtesy of NaNoWriMo. I have been editing it for a while and I decided a few months ago to start publishing it serially on Wattpad as an ARC (advanced reader copy). Which is basically my code for “it’s not *done* done…but its pretty close to done.”

This is the brilliant thing about choosing to self-publish. I can do cool stuff like Wattpad. It’s been fun and really helpful. Not only do I get encouragement from my 5 or so dedicated fans, but I also get great feedback. One of my fans even gave me a really dynamite idea when I was kind of floundering. I also frequently rank in the top 200 of both Fantasy and Adventure on Wattpad, which is an added encouragement. Wattpad has helped me push on and write when I should be procrastinating, because my fans are counting on me.

Anything else you would like to mention?

Well there is plenty more people should know about me. And the best way to find that out is to connect with me. I am on pretty much every social media (an occupational hazard) but I am most active on Google+ https://plus.google.com/+AmandaJuneHagarty and Wattpad http://www.wattpad.com/user/AmandaJuneHagarty. People can feel free to connect with me there. I always answer messages–except for the really creepy stalkerish ones. So anyone trying to stalk me should act normal, or they will get absolutely nowhere.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

